Say Something

“Say Something” by A Great Big World with Christina Aguilera

 

“You know you want to forgive me.  You know you can, babe.”

He brushed his hand across her cheek, and she could smell the combination of cigarettes and cologne.  She remembered a time when his aroma appealed to her.  Now it just caused her to  wrinkle her nose up to keep from sneezing.

“Forgive me, please,” he begged her.  “Do it for us.”

She raised her eyes to meet his.  She suddenly needed to see him – to get a really good look at this man standing before her now.  Was he the same person she once adored?  Would have followed anywhere?  Would have given up her entire world for?

“I was unhappy with my life.  There were things I needed then that I couldn’t communicate…”

She leaned forward slightly, anxiously hanging on his every word, waiting to hear something – anything – that would set off the signals in her heart that would let her know they would be okay now.  She waited for the warm rush to flow through, making her lightheaded and giddy again, like she was in the days when she felt loved by him.  Just two words would get that for her.  Just two words.

“…and I guess I needed time to experience life and see what was out there for me.  But now, I’m much more grounded and I’ve matured.  I’ve changed, baby.  Please tell me you believe me.  I’m so much better now than I was back then.”

She waited.  But those words she so eagerly anticipated never came.  As she turned and walked towards the door he reached for her one last time.

“Tell me, please.  Tell me what it is you need from me.  What do I have to do to make this right again?” he begged.

“I’m sorry, Sam,” she shook her head before walking out.  “I’m sorry.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

