Where Did The Time Go?

It has been a minute since I last posted here.  Not that I haven’t wanted to.  Please don’t think I forgot about you guys…whoever you may be. : )

It’s the usual excuses from my mouth:  I was sick.  In bed with the flu.  Maybe even bronchitis.  Yeah, that’s the ticket.  Bronchitis.  Then the holidays happened.  One day I was writing a book, and the next day I was cooking a turkey for my family.  My family of 10.  Make that 20.  Maybe more.

Christmas whipped right past before I could even say “Fa la la la la”, and the next thing I knew, I was ripping down the tree and storing the decorations up in the attic until next year.

And then it dawned on me.

It will be a year since I lost my dad.  It seems like just yesterday I was holding his hand while he slept in his hospital bed, how we talked about getting the family together for pizza once the doc gave him a clean bill of health and they let him go home.  I remember watching his face light up the room as I held up my phone so he could see his little granddaughter on FaceTime.  And now, he’s gone.  And it’s been a year.

A year.  How does time escape that quickly?  How can you tell someone you love them one day, not realizing that it will be the last time you ever get to say those words to them?  Where did the time go?  What I would not give to have even one day to spend with him again.  I’d tell him all over again how much he is loved.  I’d hold his hand, and listen to him tell his favorite funny stories for the millionth time.  I’d bask in the glow as he showed off photos of his grandkids to everyone who entered the room.  I’d be happy again, because he was with me, even just for a few hours.  I’d try to hold onto that time as tightly as I could.  I’d try to remember every single second of it.

I would never let it end.

Leave a Reply

