It’s All A Lot of Oysters, But No Pearls…

“If you think that I could be forgiven, I wish you would…” – Counting Crows

Confessions:  I have only written half of Chapter 25 of Canaan’s Promise.  I am still editing the novel I have been working on for the past three years (which is currently being called “Finally”, but I have a feeling that may change soon).  And…as if I did not have enough on my writing to-do list, I am now playing around with an idea for a new short story, which may or may not be published on Wattpad, depending on how things go.

So I apologize for not blogging more often, and for not updating Canaan’s Promise in a more timely fashion.  The new idea came to me out of the blue, and it’s not like anything I have ever written about in the past, so it has my full attention at the moment.  My new writing endeavor is something akin to that really cute, cool older boy in high school who you think is way out of your league, but then he winks at you in the hallway one day and leaves you thinking, “Well, maybe…”.

I have no business putting my time and energy into any new projects, given my busy work schedule and the two projects I have already committed myself to.  However, the ideas swimming through my brain are too persuasive to ignore.  The only issues I have with the new project (Notice how I am already referring to it as a “project”.) is that a good part of the story is autobiographical, which for me is extremely difficult to write honestly about.  I need to be honest because it’s a  better narrative than anything I can make up in my head.  But parts of it are painful and somewhat embarrassing to revisit – and to see it in print – so I find myself changing small scenes here and there.  Ultimately, though, what I keep coming back to is that the truth is so much more powerful than anything I could create.

I have been keeping up with the recent activity on Canaan’s Promise, though, and I do appreciate your wonderful comments and votes!  For everyone who has been reading and responding, and adding the story to their lists, please know I SO appreciate your time and I will be updating very soon!  You guys are the best!

Currently Listening To:

“A Long December” – Counting Crows

Leave a Reply

